CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

tonynannini

8th December 2018, 14:27
No idea. Do you agree with me on the misspelling of the occupant's origin?
11 of 111  -   Report This Post

wakeling

8th December 2018, 14:33
I assume the central square looks rather like the one above it, replicating a characteristic of the occupant in the spelling of the origin. The US completes an accurate representation.
12 of 111  -   Report This Post

drxx

8th December 2018, 14:38
I think so, I've simply duplicated a letter at the centre, mispelling the name to 'maintain consistency' with some entries. This suggests the anatomical quirk I think you're referring to (but I'm no expert on the theme - it's all coming from wiki).

I hope this discussion of the endgame so soon doesn't put people off - it would put me off! Sorry.

I've got to leave for a couple of hours now. Sorry again.
13 of 111  -   Report This Post

drxx

8th December 2018, 14:55
One more thing before I go.

Another problem with discussing endgames so early is that references are made to things that are only obvious to solvers at the same stage of completion.

I did not mean to suggest that clued answers are ever misspelled on entry or that they have letters arbitrarily duplicated - they do not.

Thanks wakeling - I'll have another look via wiki.
14 of 111  -   Report This Post

murky

9th December 2018, 05:32
This puzzle is topsy-turvy. Normally one would expect to get the theme via the clue gimmick provided, but in this case the number of possible changes to extra words is too large to be of any use whatsoever. Many have eight or more possibilities and at least one has over twenty. As far as I can see the correct versions can only be determined when one has worked out the theme from the completed grid, and even then I fail to see how a couple are particularly thematic.