CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

pauly

28th May 2022, 10:29
Enjoyed this one though there are a few that I haven't fully parsed.
Agree with the above that you can solve 3d with no cryptic shenanigans if you are older than 35: in fact, this delayed me putting in the answer for ages.
COD - 17a (now it has been explained to me!)
FOI - 19.
31 of 72  -   Report This Post

ludwigvan

28th May 2022, 11:07
Hi, I’m a newbie to this site and really enjoy reading the posts but whose site is it? Is it Brendan’s or Geeker’s or just whoever posts first?
32 of 72  -   Report This Post

chrise

28th May 2022, 11:15
Is the second word the same in both 8 and 26? There doesn't seem to be any reason why it shouldn't be!
33 of 72  -   Report This Post

jono

28th May 2022, 11:22
No Chris, not the same
34 of 72  -   Report This Post

chrise

28th May 2022, 11:31
thanks jono - now corrected

painfully slow prgress!
35 of 72  -   Report This Post

chrise

28th May 2022, 11:51
OK, finished. LOI 12a. I was confident that it was PASTES, but that didn't fit with 13d

Very clever, but I didn't enjoy it. It seemed like one of those that was more fun to set than solve.
36 of 72  -   Report This Post

crosbie71

28th May 2022, 12:28
Bravo. I balked a little at this one but it actually turned out to be an excellent puzzle.

I also wavered about 12a — a few possibilities presented themselves, and I’m still wondering whether there might be an alternative to the one I ended up with (and am pretty confident in).

I felt that an alternative, varying from what I take to be the answer only by the first letter (not a crosser), might also carry the definition ‘beats soundly’, though I’ve only found an account of it meaning ‘failures to succeed’.
37 of 72  -   Report This Post

minno

28th May 2022, 13:08