CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

malone

26th March 2019, 18:07
Thanks, Grunger. I was concerned that I might be monopolising this thread - 'I think this...', 'I dislike this', ''I get annoyed when...' so I was hoping other people would join in!

It's always good to see what other things, uses of English, irritate other Forum users. Other people's moans can be very satisfying.

341 of 2514  -   Report This Post

dandybandy

27th March 2019, 12:32
I don't know whether anyone has mentioned these but here goes. I'm a member of an amateur operatic & dramatic society and I daren't mention the number of times someone has talked about a single rostra or wondered if they could borrow a chaise lonje (sic) . Yesterday I lost count of the number of times the word amachewer came up at rehearsal. That was eventually corrected though.
342 of 2514  -   Report This Post

malone

27th March 2019, 13:58
Thanks, Dandybandy. I'd wince - but only a little - at the singular 'rostra' and the 'chaise lonje'. I think foreign words that are now used in English are often tricky, for all sorts of reasons. I had a friend who got annoyed if anyone said 'cul-de-sacs'. Th at used to be considered an incorrect plural, but it is now widely accepted. And I feel it should be accepted - if not, we should all be using the foreign pronunciation as well as the spelling.

Although the 'amachewer' is a little irritating, it doesn't bother me unduly.
343 of 2514  -   Report This Post

tyke51

27th March 2019, 20:32
I suppose the increasing `Americanisation` of English is inevitable given the dominance of American culture, but it`s not something I look forward to.
I can just about cope with `color` and `theater` but I refuse to take the elevator when a perfectly good lift is available!
344 of 2514  -   Report This Post

stevea6000

27th March 2019, 21:30