CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

gitto

15th May 2022, 11:44
This is an excellent puzzle with a reasonable amount of difficulty. Thankfully the end game is relatively straightforward and produces a nice new grid.
1 of 63  -   Report This Post

callmeishmael

15th May 2022, 12:16
I’m new to this puzzle but extremely intrigued. The instructions always baffle me so can anyone offer guidance please?
For example, this week, what does “wordplay in every clue yields an extra letter” mean? Is the extra letter in the answer? I think that the extra letter in Foreign Trainees from China is the letter i, am I on the right lines? I also have another clue with a spare n in the answer. They are the only two I’ve managed to solve though
How on earth might you determine where the clues go?
I’m usually OK with alphabetical crosswords (I.e, the guardian cryptic) but this looks a much harder proposition.
Ps also new to this forum although I’ve used it for years. Everyone seems really friendly so I thought today - why not register and join in the fun.
2 of 63  -   Report This Post

malone

15th May 2022, 12:28
Welcome, Callme...

Yes, the 'extra letter in wordplay' means that the answer doesn't contain a letter indicated. Your Trainees one is a good example - 'foreign' indicates an anagram, but there's one letter too many. Another easier-spotted one is ''Vessel poet rejected' - a common 'vessel, but the 'rejected poet is one letter longer...