CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

ethereal

31st October 2020, 13:05
Thanks for that.
31 of 52  -   Report This Post

abicoop

31st October 2020, 15:34
Super thanks rogissimo, I'd wondered that but was trying to make a container out of the 2nd half of the clue, doh!
Fun crossword
32 of 52  -   Report This Post

rogissimo

31st October 2020, 15:54
Hi ethereal
Sorry, I’d failed to spot that you’d already asked about the loaf - I’d have answered much earlier if I had. Sorry for the delay!
33 of 52  -   Report This Post

femmenoire

31st October 2020, 18:33
Maybe it’s the mood I’m in but beyond the satisfaction of building the answers, I didn’t find this one a particularly entertaining solve. The theme was of minimal help to me, despite getting 22a early doors. I have limited knowledge in that subject area, but gained a bit by looking up potential candidates from the across answers. I wonder if sticking so rigidly to the theme limited the setter’s creativity here.

I think the answer to 21d is referring to the first part a substitute for a meatloaf. This sort does exist it seems, but the nut one is better known - it was often mocked in the 1970s.

I still have 3d and 7d to go. Some help would be welcome please.

Hints in this forum have been very helpful as per usual thanks!
34 of 52  -   Report This Post

chrise

31st October 2020, 18:37
21d "loaf" is slang for "head" or ????.
3d "staff" is a verb. The artist is famous for his "foreshortening"!
7d is a rather ugly 2 word expression for "regarding".
35 of 52  -   Report This Post

brendan

31st October 2020, 18:39
Hi FemmeNoire,

3d - First three letters are from "staff" (as a verb) follwed by an anagram/"sacked" of "agent" - definition is "Italian artist" (a specific one)

7d - Is hidden reversed/"up" in the clue, it's a Latin term meaning "touching" (as in 'concerning')