CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

drxx

25th June 2020, 17:42
The tide of antipathy runs strongest when the cardinal rule - 'do not comment on live puzzles' - is broken. That's the real issue, but I'm beginning to think politics might be a secondary factor (I've been criticised for breaking the first rule, but I have no personal experience of any left-wing bias).

It's their site, their rules - I have no issue with that at all.
81 of 123  -   Report This Post

spoffy

25th June 2020, 20:02
Can I echo Ifor's remark re comments on 15squared (a few subsequent observations by others notwithstanding - in any event, if every EV solver were to comment there on future puzzles that would be, well, weird).

The 15squared blog provides a shared view of clues, solutions (with explanations) and completed grid, along with a record of one person's solving experience, against which solvers can make comments that require no additional context to be established.

Without that backdrop, a comment, say, to the effect that "the definition in 17dn was weak" or "the cell two down from the top and three in surely needs to be shaded" is simply confusing if the person making the comment has misinterpreted the clue or the endgame.

But to say more (eg "the misprinted definition 'Kipper' in 17dn was weak" or "the cell containing an asterisk surely needs shading") on a general help thread in relation to a crossword that's probably only been available for a few hours risks giving the game away for solvers who haven't yet even reached that point in the puzzle. It also worries the hell out of others who've (quite correctly) used the definition 'Dipper' and put an 'A' in that special cell.