CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

xij

24th November 2019, 16:50
I think I have the first seven numbers, but could someone confirm that D, L, R and T are numbers 7, 8, 9 and 10, although not necessarily in that order. Really struggling with this, maths not being my strong point.
21 of 62  -   Report This Post

buzzb

24th November 2019, 16:57
xij - You are correct.
22 of 62  -   Report This Post

carolspringett

24th November 2019, 18:04
Hello I’m new to the forum. As a maths teacher I am keen to try the number puzzles but often don’t understand the instructions. How can I learn the basics of these puzzles? I’m good at the primes, cubes, etc when they appear. What is it I need to see/know? Thanks.
23 of 62  -   Report This Post

merenz

24th November 2019, 20:24
Hi Carol. Welcome to the forum. There’s some info on the Listener Crossword site about tackling number puzzles

https://www.listenercrossword.com/PDF/mcross1.pdf

The instructions (known as the preamble) need to be read a number of times to give you time to process all of its component parts and nuances. The preamble often seems impenetrable initially but it will begin to unfold. Once you’ve begun to solve, the preamble becomes clearer with every further reread.

If you’re ever totally flummoxed by anything in the instructions, the friendly folk on this forum will always be happy to help.

Good luck.
24 of 62  -   Report This Post

buzzb

24th November 2019, 21:25
Carol:

I highly recommend https://www.crossnumbersquarterly.com/ which is dedicated to this type of puzzle.
25 of 62  -   Report This Post

oyler

25th November 2019, 10:30
Thanks for the plug for CQ buzzb
26 of 62  -   Report This Post

cockie

25th November 2019, 11:56
I'm still struggling with this - is the last 5-letter word (in demeter's #5 above) a digit? It looks as though it might be.