CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

buggslife

18th September 2019, 11:31
Hi, is this a good place to get feedback and advice on clues I'm making?

It's a present for my father-in-law but it's my first time making up clues, so I thought I'd turn to more experienced solvers for tips...

If so, I'll post my drafts here.
1 of 9  -   Report This Post

ginge

18th September 2019, 12:20
Hi buggslife, there are lots of very experienced and very good solvers on this site who help parsing clues but I imagine not all may feel comfortable giving, what would no doubt be intended as, constructive criticism
a)at all
b) not knowing either the level of "ability" the intended solver (your father-in-law) has and/or your appraisal of what is a good/fair clue.
No doubt your father-in-law is an avid crossword fan hence your keenness in this matter but perhaps if you indicate what puzzles he regularly does/attempts you might get a few people willing to assist.
2 of 9  -   Report This Post

ginge

18th September 2019, 12:25
Hi again buggslife, I meant to add; are you intending setting a complete crossword or just a number of clues as in a treasure trail ?
3 of 9  -   Report This Post

buggslife

18th September 2019, 13:06
Hi Ginge,
Thanks - I appreciate it would be opening myself up to pretty heavy 'constructive' criticism!
Since I am a beginner - I started doing (solving) cryptic crosswords only last month having never looked at one before - I expect my attempts to be rather weak.

The lucky receiver (my father-in -law) is, indeed, very experienced but only does Telegraph crosswords.

I have focussed on Guardian based ones and can see some differences in styles already between them.