CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

brendan

21st October 2023, 21:26
6d - I'm not a chemistry expert but Chambers says that both the answer and "caustic" can mean 'corrosive' so it seems OK (good) 😉
91 of 112  -   Report This Post

geeker

21st October 2023, 21:27
grum, I believe the defn. in 6 is correct, see https://tinyurl.com/yab5w86m
92 of 112  -   Report This Post

grum

21st October 2023, 21:28
Ah, got the wrong cricketer! Thanks
93 of 112  -   Report This Post

grum

21st October 2023, 21:31
Oh okay then. Thanks. I've always thought it was what you called a corrosive substance with higher pH.
94 of 112  -   Report This Post

geeker

21st October 2023, 22:06
Thanks, Brendan. That makes a lot of sense..

It often happens in baseball (details omitted). I no longer follow the sport, but since my childhood a selfish player was often said to "be able to calculate his batting average to three decimal places while running from home plate to first base."

Barry Bonds (home run record holder and infamous PED user) was long referred to as "Stat Man". 🤣
95 of 112  -   Report This Post

brendan

21st October 2023, 22:37
Thanks Geeker,

I was unaware of the parallel between the two sports but, now you mention it, I see it.

I remember, years ago, watching the NY Yankees in either a play off game or the World Series itself, and Paul O' Neill came to the plate needing to get runners on base. After his second strike it looked like a lost cause - he then proceeded to hit foul ball after foul ball, seriously, I think it was in the double figures, until the 3d "ball" was finally signalled and he proceeded to First - fulfilling his mission.

Some years later I was watching an interview with either Joe Torre or the NYY owner, and he described it as one of the greatest 'at bats' he's ever seen.
96 of 112  -   Report This Post

geeker