CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

xij

21st June 2016, 20:44
Thanks wintonian. Funnily enough I kept looking at two entries down in BRB, so I was close.
rrrobbo, 22d is "Swiss cheese plant" (monstera) without the a.
51 of 65  -   Report This Post

escuan

21st June 2016, 23:04
I now have a full grid, the two 9-letter words and the two pairs of words in each set. a) I cannot for the life of me see how to parse 10 across; and b) I cannot see how the two nine-letter words lead to the quotation. I thought the two pairs of words would be the source of the quotation, assuming I have the right play (apparently confirmed by 25 down). But this seems not to be the case. A little nudge would, as always, be more than welcome.
52 of 65  -   Report This Post

smartie

22nd June 2016, 01:19
Newbie here! Hope I don't tread on anyone's toes... Full grid but still struggling with the quotation. I know the source but not well enough to zero in. Escuan - shortform for March, shorform for atheltic and shortform for champion the previous two surrounded by Roman two. Rivals is the definition for another clue. Result is a musician of South American origin. Hope this isn't too much information!
53 of 65  -   Report This Post

gitto

22nd June 2016, 05:58
Escuan, you have the right source, but don't google the words in the perimeter you would be wasting your time - as I did for most of Sunday!!!. What have you done with the clues where a letter has been dropped?
54 of 65  -   Report This Post

rrrobbo

22nd June 2016, 06:10
The two extra words from across and down guide you to the right part of the material for the quote. The two nine letter words tell you what letters make up that quote (and the speaker).....but not in what order......it's a bit of a jaw dropping moment when the penny drops. Personally I did it by looking for W's!