CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

mithli

7th December 2016, 16:42
A relative newbie here! I've got quite a few answers and think I've sussed the theme, but I'm stuck on how to start filling the grid because I can't see a thematic word in the answer the first down clue. Can someone confirm if the first down clue would be 1dn, and the first across clue 1ac?

31 of 47  -   Report This Post

galfridus

7th December 2016, 17:10
I am enjoying this puzzle hugely but am having problems with the NE corner. If I knew more about Mary Rand and Prof Jones I might get a good night's sleep. To avoid spoiling things for others my email address is" jfleet@btinternet.com." Please put me out of my misery.
With many thanks.
32 of 47  -   Report This Post

orientfan

7th December 2016, 17:16
Me too, galfridus. Would greatly appreciate a hint to the second and third across solutions. Also, are the thematic elements arranged symmetrically?
Thanks
33 of 47  -   Report This Post

djawhufc

7th December 2016, 17:27
Prof Jones hot- is an anagram. The answer is a thematic.

Rand- answer is thematic- Mary as in Virgin + top medal in sport

34 of 47  -   Report This Post

djawhufc

7th December 2016, 17:29
Thematics not symmetric.

2nd across- thematic- - one girl embraced is A G IN contained by a girl's name.

3rd across- answered below

35 of 47  -   Report This Post

mithli

7th December 2016, 17:54
I solved 2nd across as one + a girl's name surrounding another girl's name. But it works as A G IN too.
36 of 47  -   Report This Post

wintonian

7th December 2016, 21:47
Hi, Mithli,