CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

kirky

20th June 2015, 16:47
ah! yes - see what you mean. I am sure my grid is correct (probably wnet by the defns) but I have spotted the 1a in the wordplay of 27d. I suppose there will be 5 more if I search hard enough!
11 of 34  -   Report This Post

don

20th June 2015, 17:44
Can anyone enlighten me on the wordplay for 35d which I am assuming is DANZIG - is it one of the 6 thematic clues?

Thanks
12 of 34  -   Report This Post

ginge

20th June 2015, 18:02
Hi don, this is the one that I am awaiting confirmation on from a fellow solver who hasn't had a chance to start this puzzle yet. I'm relatively new to doing this puzzle so I'm not 100 % au fait with each setter's nuances but for what it's worth all I can come up with is: D (Deutch, German) + saying "antic" (frolicsome as an adjective) when one has a heavy cold. I could be way off beam.
13 of 34  -   Report This Post

ginge

20th June 2015, 18:04
PS It's not one of the thematic 6.
14 of 34  -   Report This Post

nelson

20th June 2015, 19:41
Danzig is how you would say dancing if you had a cold.
15 of 34  -   Report This Post

nelson

20th June 2015, 19:45
Danzig= German city in poland
16 of 34  -   Report This Post

ginge

20th June 2015, 20:01
Cheers nelson, I did appreciate Danzig = Gdansk but think the construction clumsy if that's the intention. Added to that, homophones, in general, I dislike and think most if not all are regional or dialect depending with or without the complication of being afflicted with a cold. No doubt you're correct with "dancing" but with a cold or not it wouldn't sound like Danzig where are I am.
17 of 34  -   Report This Post

nelson

20th June 2015, 20:20
Agree with you ginge.
But where I live, in GM, we would pronounce 'dancing' with short a sound. So 'danc' would rhyme with 'danz' if you know what I mean.