CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

eccles45

15th July 2012, 22:55
Tried it for the first time last Sunday - scream. Second time today - got one more than last week - more screams.

Now I've been tackling cryptic crosswords for five decades, I complete most Guardian and Times, but these Mephistos ... !!!

Is it just me ?
1 of 18  -   Report This Post

rossim

15th July 2012, 23:15
It is supposed to be more difficult than the average cryptic!
I notice there is a blog 'Times of the times' that explains the answers. If you are determined to crack them it is worth working through those.
For me - Life's too short!
2 of 18  -   Report This Post

eccles45

15th July 2012, 23:26
Thanks for your reply, Rossim.

I only know of the blog 'Times for the Times' and I loathe it as it seems to be full of folk who reckon how quick they solve a puzzle outweighs the enjoyment of the struggle.

Sorry - that's just this aged crone having a moan :-(

As long as Mephisto is meant to be harder, I will persevere for a few more weeks.
3 of 18  -   Report This Post

les40

16th July 2012, 00:20
Hiya eccles,