CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

jazzgirl

4th August 2011, 12:10
Good morning all .
I am new to cryptic crosswords, but managed somehow to complete 32 over the course of 2 days . I have just seen CM's link and I have to agree with Navigator on 6d. (being a bit of a musician myself)
I send my very best wishes to old gal :)
11 of 22  -   Report This Post

karen

4th August 2011, 13:15
Hi Navigator and Jazzgirl,I've had another quick look at MC's site,I agree with both of you.I dont think he looked at the clue closely enough!
Bestxx
12 of 22  -   Report This Post

old gal

4th August 2011, 14:31
Oh Well Done Karen! You explained 21a very well and I got it immediately - except I usually use a coarser 4 letter word at the commencement of the word..... Nice to see newcomers on the site and welcome! Will doubtless be asking for more help but meanwhile plodding on. Incidentally, finished last week's - yay........
13 of 22  -   Report This Post

cantersue

4th August 2011, 15:38
6 down definitely wrong as answer is contained in ("piece" of) the clue - maintrombone.
14 of 22  -   Report This Post

wee jock

4th August 2011, 15:53
HOWDY AGAIN

Yes,kAREN,I see 21a clearly now although it is not a word with which I am familiar,regional perhaps (barryl.... in your native land).
So,
Stacks of buildings containing goods=
Oodles of garden huts with stuff inside=
in large quanties=.h.d.o.d.

Now,still in critical mood,lets look at 12a,
the first of the phrase for'to make fitter' is surely 'lick'but again this may be regional although Chamber's has it as 'lick'.

Otherwise this was a good puzzle with some nice witty clues.

Sorry if I sound a bit of an anorak, but you've got to laugh!

HOPE ALL ARE WELL
NUFF SAID
TIMES TEN
WJ
15 of 22  -   Report This Post

mondrian

4th August 2011, 17:30