CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

les 40

9th October 2010, 18:31
Hi, Ive been doing the Times for a few years now and recently had a go at the Mephisto, I fancy a go at the Saturday Listener, but can't seem to get the gist of it. Can anyone who does it give me a few pointers to help me on my way.
1 of 40  -   Report This Post

smiffy

9th October 2010, 18:39
Can't help, but would be intrigued to read this thread, too.
2 of 40  -   Report This Post

sudokulover

9th October 2010, 18:49
I'd like to have a try too - but help doesn't seem forthcoming anywhere.Perhaps we should all have a go together and compare notes on here!
3 of 40  -   Report This Post

les 40

9th October 2010, 22:35
I may have to contact a few old friends, but can't think who would be my best bet, maybe we can sort something before next week.I'll try to muster some interest tonight by keeping this thread on page 1. Hopefully some of the regular quality solvers can throw us a line on this quandary.
4 of 40  -   Report This Post

confused

10th October 2010, 13:22
There are a few sites which give information about the listener-

http://www.listenercrossword.com/List_Home.html
http://listenwithothers.com/
http://www.theanswerbank.co.uk/Quizzes-and-Puzzles/Crosswords/Question945633-2.html
the answerbank has a new thread each week.

There was a series of articles about how to solve the listener several years back.

A word of friendly warning. Some Listener solvers get very irked by sites that give very direct hints or even, horror of horrors, answers. They are worried about cheating. There was an attempt on this site to give answers to a particular listener puzzle, but this was firmly quashed by a contributor.

Good luck - I would welcome help with the listener as I very rarely solve it and guidance would be welcome. a
5 of 40  -   Report This Post

smiffy