CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

crypticnoobie

10th November 2017, 21:23
Hi folks! Lovely to be here!

I'm fairly new to Cryptic Crosswords, having only done one before. Anyway, I'm making a Cryptic Crossword for my friend, for his birthday. He's a professional puzzle designer & does Cryptics for fun.

I found this forum by googling & found a post about making a birthday cryptic crossword, from which I've used the Happy Birthday phrase clue. (I'd post a link, but I'm not allowed as this is my first forum post).

I'll post the clues I've made up below. All feedback, suggestions, alternatives, etc are very helpful, thanks in advance!

Thug Licker is Basic Arithmetic before YTV curtailed (5)

Quadruple guillotine toehold, on death's door (3)

Organize hippy a dry bath, say, to celebrate an annual event!(5,8)

heart filled spots are, not drunken wizards or sorcerers but... (5)

Polite exclamation before targets (5)

Prostitute and me, are intimates (6)

Sulfar thunder, essentially! (4)

Oak rake scatters, damaging song (7)

Singular five tiny porkers, thine insanity, serious hole (3,4,2,3,5)
//This one is a phrase. Not sure if that's common or not?

Laughter who dealt it, initially flipped after reversed triple ending recombine (6)

And these are some that include personal references:

Chicken Reverse Father, frog daddy (6) - Henson (his middle name)

short submarines and curvy tweens, drunkenly smash together, at Spadina & Queen (8) - Business
Short version of submarines is SUBS
Curvy tweens is SINE (sine curve, used to "tween" objects between two locations)
smash together SUBSSINE, but drunkenly means rearrange,
At Spadina Ave & Queen St, where he used to own a business

Sad embargo dances in the basement (5,5) - board games