CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

quixote

26th June 2012, 09:30
I'm a newbie round here and I'd like to get a handle on the etiquette - if such exists.
I'm very competitive, and I'm assuming (985 31D?) that the people who offer explicit answers are those who've already won and who don't need yet another identical set of Times books.
And that until I win, I'm not obliged to offer answers,though I can ask all the questions I like.
As this is cheating, and I do this for a sense of unaided intellectual achievement, I intend to keep my questions to the absolute minimum - only when I'm totally baffled and the deadline is looming.
If and when (985 31D) I win, I'll answer others' questions, but only with cryptic hints, not just answers.
Will this do? (Sorry for the implied criticism of those who DO give explicit answers).
1 of 12  -   Report This Post

sudokulover

26th June 2012, 09:43
we need the clue to be able to help - not everyone has the paper
2 of 12  -   Report This Post

rosalind

26th June 2012, 09:44
Most people help others out of the kindness of their hearts, not even considering that by doing so they may, very slightly, reduce their own chances of winning. That is, if they send them in at all.
My grandfather posted off the correct, completed Times Crossword for decades until he died aged 90. He never won.
Perhaps help others if you can before you win?
3 of 12  -   Report This Post

quixote

26th June 2012, 10:32
Rosalind - I rather thought that was it - trouble is, I do LOVE to win! But you're right - altruism rools OK.
I guess one makes up one's own rules - I think it would be good for everyone's mental hygiene if answers were hinted at rather than given straight - I've noticed that several subscribers to this forum do this - it adds a slightly simpler level to the solving process - I like that.