CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

chips

8th September 2011, 12:44
What a delight this was - hope others felt the same?
1 of 22  -   Report This Post

peterm

8th September 2011, 14:25
Good, well-crafted puzzle today. Not too difficult. I just take issue with 24dn - I don't think Morocco fits in with the answer. Monaco, yes, but not Morocco.
2 of 22  -   Report This Post

bunty

8th September 2011, 15:16
Agree, yes a nice puzzle! late starting today but all done now. I don't get the clue for 24d though, I take it Persian is the defn?
Also where does the TV come into 35a?
3 of 22  -   Report This Post

chips

8th September 2011, 15:19
Peterm, I'm a comparative novice with the Spectator puzzle - so some subtleties are lost on me. I solved the clue because of 'Persian', took 'Morocco' to lead to 'mo' - and still don't see how 'perfectly comprehending' fits in.
4 of 22  -   Report This Post

djawhufc

8th September 2011, 15:19
Bunty

Think animal for persian and cross dresser for tv
5 of 22  -   Report This Post

bunty

8th September 2011, 15:23
djawhufc - that's what I thought but a bit vague.
6 of 22  -   Report This Post

peterm

8th September 2011, 15:44
Chips - I think Moroccan is supposed to be MC in the answer. Take out MC and your left with a short 3-word expression meaning perfectly. I just don't see why MC should represent Morocco. It's the IVR for Monaco.
7 of 22  -   Report This Post

ixion

8th September 2011, 18:21
Re 24D...I took it to be perfectly understanding(tact-ful)with MO for morocco(though agree it's not a correct abbr as far as I can find)form being the anag indicator.

23A Don't get the Sade reference - can anyone enlighten me?

Cheers

ixion

8 of 22  -   Report This Post

chips

8th September 2011, 18:32